Spotlight on OAA Awards - Landmark Designation Award

2016 Landmark Designation Award Winner
Building: 299 Queen Street West 
Location: Toronto, ON 

The annual OAA Awards program was established in 1988 and offers Ontario architects, students and interns an opportunity to showcase their best work and increase public appreciation of the services provided by the architectural profession. 

The Awards highlights the best in architectural design and innovation by Ontario Architects. Winners of the OAA Awards include both emerging talent and some of the provinces' most established architecture practices. Award recipients are honoured at the annual Celebration of Excellence Awards Ceremony that takes place in May. 

As the OAA is now accepting Entries for the 2017 OAA Awards, this mini-blOAAg series on “Spotlight on OAA Awards” will highlight the various categories of awards given by the OAA annually.

Spotlight on Landmark Designation Award!

Let us recognize landmark architecture in your community! Two thousand and seventeen is Canada’s sesquicentennial, and has provided an opportunity for us to learn about the buildings that define Ontario Communities on a day-to-day basis and to get them recognized. This award offers a chance to celebrate the diversity and impacts of architecture across this province.

The Landmark Designation award was designed to recognize buildings that demonstrate architecture’s beauty, endurance, and lasting contribution to our community and society.  It identifies iconic buildings in Ontario, designed by Ontario architects -alone or in partnership with architects from other countries. These buildings symbolize excellence in architectural design, urban design, a unique community identity, as well as make a lasting contribution to the evolution of architecture.  It’s a platform to celebrate the lasting contribution of the buildings that defines a society/community and the architects responsible for its creation. 

Who can nominate a building?
Anyone may nominate up to three projects for Landmark designation. OAA members who nominate a building may be eligible to record Continuing Education hours for the reading component of preparing a submission.

What qualifies as a Landmark Designated building?
1- Establishes an inspirational design excellence standard for present and future generations

2- Enhances its immediate environment and the public realm
3- Recognizes, respects and builds upon the unique attributes of its surroundings (context)
4- Provides a building solution that makes a lasting and meaningful contribution to its community and is a valued community/city icon.
5- Must be located in Ontario, and built 25 years ago or more (prior to 1990)

1- The nominated projects need not be the nominator's own work.

2- Projects considered for Landmark designation must exhibit the values attributed above to a Landmark designated building.
3- Previous Landmark and OAA 25 Year Award winning projects are ineligible.

Past Recipients (2010-2016) 
2016 | 299 Queen Street West, Toronto ON | Burke, Horwood and White (original building) Quadrangle Architects Limited (renovation) 
2015 | Belleville City Hall, Belleville ON | William R. White Architect Limited
2014 | 50 Park Road, Toronto ON | John B. Parkin Associates (Now NORR Limited, Architects and Engineers); McMaster University Health Sciences Centre, Hamilton ON | Zeidler Partnership Architects; Wandich Cottage, Peterborough ON | Strasman Architects Inc.
2013 | Massey College, Toronto ON | Ronald J. Thom, Thompson, Berwick & Pratt
2012 | Ryerson Recreation & Athletics Centre, Toronto ON | Lett/Smith Architects
2011 |  Not awarded
2010 | Lapierre House, St. Catherines ON | James E. Secord and Saul Herzog; Queen’s Quay Terminal Building, Toronto ON | Zeidler Roberts Partnership (Zeidler Partnership Architects: current practice)

For more past recipients of the Landmark Designation Award click here

Flag as Inappropriate