INNOVATION 2030: The Future is Now

What better way to understand and influence the future than to design for it?

That is precisely what an unprecedented one-thousand+ students and faculty, representing over 50 schools of architecture, are undertaking by participating in INNOVATION 2030 / COTE Top Ten for Students, a studio design and ideas competition that meaningfully addresses the current and projected impacts of climate change. This design studio experience is expected to prepare graduates with an understanding of energy and emissions, resilience, and adaptation when planning and designing the built environment.

Given the longevity of the built environment, we must design for the future today. In 2017 we saw an unprecedented number of climate-related natural disasters worldwide including historic flooding in Puerto Rico, Florida, and Houston and catastrophic fires and mudslides in California and the Northwest. As climate change intensifies, such disasters will become increasingly common. The time has come to accelerate the transformation in the world of architectural education and professional practice, and this year’s INNOVATION 2030 / COTE Top Ten for Students competitors are contributing to this wave. The winning entries with the most compelling design responses to current and projected environmental conditions will be offered summer internships at leading sustainable design firms in the U.S. and Canada, bringing their unique expertise to one of the 31 top architecture firms partnering on this competition.


Participating Schools 

Academy of Art University 

Appalachian State University 

Auburn University 

Ball State University 

California Baptist University 

California College of the Arts 

California Polytechnic State University 

California Polytechnic State University, Pomona 

Carleton University 

Carnegie Mellon University 

Clemson University 

Diablo Valley College 

Florida Atlantic University 

Georgia Institute of Technology 

Harvard University

Illinois Institute of Technology 

Iowa State University 

Kennesaw State University 

Lawrence Technological University 

Louisiana State University 

Marywood University 

Montana State University 

North Dakota State University 

Prairie View A&M University 

Pratt Institute 

Rhode Island School of Design 

Savannah College of Art and Design 

Southern Illinois University 

Temple University 

Universidad Anahuac 

Université Laval 

University of Arkansas 

University of British Columbia 

University of Cincinnati 

University of Colorado Denver 

University of Florida 

University of Idaho

University of Kentucky 

University of Miami 

University of Nebraska-Lincoln 

University of New Mexico 

University of North Carolina at Charlotte 

University of Oklahoma 

University of Oregon 

University of Pennsylvania 

University of Pittsburgh 

University of Southern California 

University of Tennessee-Knoxville 

University of Texas at Austin 

University of Texas at San Antonio

University of Washington 

Virginia Tech 

Washington University in St. Louis

Woodbury University  

Participating Firms: 

Arkin Tilt Architects 

Atelier Ten 


Brooks + Scarpa Architects 



CO Architects 

Cuningham Group Architects, Inc. 

David Hertz Architects 

DLR Group




HKS, Inc. 


Kevin Daly Architects  

Lake|Flato Architects 

Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects 

LMN Architects 

Lord Aeck Sargent 

LPA, Inc. 


Manasc Issac Architects LTD 


Payette Architects 


Quinn Evans Architects 

Siegel & Strain Architects 

Skidmore, Owings, & Merrill 

The Miller Hull Partnership 

ZGF Architects, LLP  

The top ten projects will be announced on April 22, 2018 and will be displayed at A’18 – the 2018 American Institute of Architects Conference on Architecture taking place June 21-23 in New York City. Additionally, an INNOVATION 2030 round table will take place at the Design Futures Council 2018 Leadership Forum on Education and Talent on June 20th in New York City (sessions to be published soon). Join us at A’18 and DFC to celebrate the ten winning entries and engage in discussions about the future of design education.

For more information visit: INNOVATION 2030 and ACSA 2017-2018 COTE Top Ten for Students

INNOVATION 2030 Supporters



AIA Large Firms Roundtable 

LPA, Inc. 

Lake|Flato Architects 

Atelier Ten 

ZGF Architects, LLP  



National Trust for Canada 


Carleton University 

APT International 

INNOVATION 2030 Organizers

Architecture 2030 

American Institute of Architects  

Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture 


COTE Top Ten for Students Sponsor