Notification Window


The Examination for Architects in Canada (ExAC)1 tests the minimum standards of competency acquired by an Intern Architect during the Internship period, to ensure both public safety and the professional and skilled delivery of architectural services.

ExAC is an examination developed in French and English, that meets international standards for the development, administration, scoring and reporting of licensing examinations.



In 2006, the Alberta Association of Architects (AAA), the Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) and the Ordre des architectes du Québec (OAQ) agreed to develop a new Canadian licensing/registration examination, over which they would have complete control, including control of its development, updates and administration. 


The ExAC, which is composed of four sections, covers the following topic areas as set out in the Internship in Architecture Program:

  • Programming
  • Site and Environmental Analysis
  • Cost Management
  • Coordinating Engineering Systems
  • Schematic Design
  • Design Development
  • Final Project
  • Bidding and Contract Negotiations
  • Construction Phase – Office
  • Construction Phase – Site
  • Project Management
  • Code Research