Notification Window

2018 OAA Awards Juries



Design Excellence & Lieutenant Governor’s Award 

David Covo

Carl Blanchaer

Principal, WZMH Architects

Carl joined WZMH Architects in 1981, and became a Principal of the firm in 1988. He has been responsible for the design of many of the firm’s most important projects in Canada and overseas. Two of his recent designs are recipients of OAA Design Excellence Awards:  the Bay Adelaide Centre -West Tower, Toronto (2012) and the Nova Scotia Power Corporate Headquarters, Halifax (2014). He is a member of the City of Toronto Design Review Panel and the University of Toronto Design Review Committee. Carl holds Bachelor of Environmental Studies and Master of Architecture degrees from the University of Manitoba.


Anne Bordeleau

Director, Waterloo Architecture


Dr. Anne Bordeleau is O’Donovan Director of the School of Architecture at the University of Waterloo, Canada. She is an architect and historian with publications on the temporal dimensions of drawings, maps, buildings, and architecture more generally, as well as the author of Charles Robert Cockerell, Architect in Time: Reflections Around Anachronistic Drawings. In 2016, she oversaw the creation of plaster casts as co-principal on The Evidence Room, an exhibition prepared for the 15th Venice Biennale in 2016, also shown at the Royal Ontario Museum in 2017 and selectively as Architecture as Evidence in the Canadian Centre of Architecture.


Isabelle Bradbury

Principal, Isabelle Bradbury architecture inc.

Isabelle Bradbury heads an architectural firm in Ottawa and Gatineau.

She began applying her interest in the environment to architecture as a delegate of the Canada Green Building Challenge in Vancouver in 1998. Obtaining her LEED accreditation from the US Green Building Council in 2003,  she joined the first elected board of directors of the CaGBC the following year.

Now actively pursuing architectural entrepreneurship in Detroit (For Every Home a Job) and a tech start-up in building permit processing for cities (Codacity), Isabelle is convinced, more than ever, that true sustainability is rooted in economic viability. 

Rina Greer

Paul Stevens

Owner & Senior Principal Architect, ZAS Architects + Interiors Inc.

Paul Stevens, OAA, AIBC, AAA, NSAA, MRAIC, AIA, LEED AP, is an architect and Senior Principal with ZAS Architects Inc. in Toronto.  A graduate of the University of Toronto, Paul has worked with a wide range of public and private sector clients in Canada, Asia and the Middle East- from libraries and universities, to high-rise residential and airports.  His recent and lauded projects include the Vaughan Civic Centre Resource Library, and the River City residential development in Toronto (2017 OAA Lieutenant Governor's Award for Design Excellence recipient).  Paul was also the Project Director for the multi-award winning Bergeron Centre at York University, notable for its iconic form and popularity amongst students.


David Theodore 

Professor, McGill University School of Architecture

David Theodore is Canada Research Chair in Architecture, Health, and Computation at the McGill University Peter Guo-hua Fu School of Architecture. He published regularly in the architecture column for the Montreal Gazette, and has contributed to design journals in North America, Europe, and Australia, including the RIBA Journal, Architecture, Frame, and Harvard Design Magazine. He has participated in curating and designing exhibitions at McGill University, the Toronto Design Exchange, and the Vancouver Art Gallery. Currently he is also regional correspondent at Canadian Architect and contributing Editor at Azure.


da Vinci, G.Randy Roberts Award, Best Emerging Practice 


John K. Stephenson

OAA President, Managing Partner, FORM Architecture Engineering

A founding and past managing partner of FORM Architecture Engineering in Thunder Bay, John has over 38 years’ experience in the practice of Architecture. Prior to his current practice, he was an architect with Kuch Stephenson Gibson Malo Architects and Kuch Stephenson Architects for 24 years and with Graham Bacon Welter Architects & Consulting Engineer 6 years. Before relocating to Thunder Bay in 1980, he focused on urban design, non-profit and cooperative housing projects in Toronto.

Throughout John’s career he has maintained a continuous involvement in the Ontario Association of Architects in a variety of volunteer capacities including nine years on the OAA Practice Committee, a previous term on OAA Council from 2013-2015, and has supported the work of various committees and task forces for the profession.  In his current term on Council, John has served as co-chair of the Interns Forum, Vice President of Communications, and Senior Vice President and Treasurer before being elected as President of the Association.




Sheila Penny

Vice President, Facilities Management, Toronto Community Housing


Sheila Penny joined Toronto Community Housing in 2013 as Vice-President, Facilities Management. She is responsible for an annual multi-million dollar capital repair program to maintain an aging housing stock of 60,000 units, focusing on capital renewal to improve the quality of housing for tenants, drive community transformation and build vibrant communities where people want to live. Sheila is a highly experienced executive with strong technical and architectural qualifications, able to lead diverse teams to deliver capital renewal strategies and facilities operations. Sheila has 23 years of public sector experience in operations, design and construction, energy management, real estate, planning, sustainability and redevelopment, and has had a successful architectural career in the private sector. 



Amber Salach

Chair of Northern Ontario Society of Architects


Amber joined Yallowega Bélanger Salach Architecture in 2007 after graduating with a Master’s degree from the Carleton University School of Architecture. She became a licensed architect in 2014 and is now a partner at YBSA. Raised in Sudbury, Amber is passionate about designing community buildings and working with the public in Northern Ontario.  This strong sense of community and love for bringing good design to Sudbury is showcased through not only her design work, but also through her enthusiastic involvement in a number of municipal committees, volunteer work with various arts and culture groups, as well as being chair of the Northern Ontario Society of Architects (NOSA), a local architectural society of the OAA.

Diana Osborne