Notification Window

Winners of 2018 Ontario Association of Architects Awards Revealed

TORONTO, April 3, 2018 – The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 OAA Awards. This year’s winners showcase diversity in design where projects range from cultural temples in Chile to breathtaking community hubs and local Ontario residences. 
Representing Ontario’s best emerging talent and some of the province’s most established architecture practices, 10 projects have been recognized with the prestigious Design Excellence Award. 
The OAA Awards also recognize talent and contributions to the industry by honoring practices and individuals with the Best Emerging Practice, G. Randy Roberts Service Award and Order of da Vinci awards.
“Every year it is a privilege to honour the very best in Canadian architecture and design. The OAA Awards help to champion and encourage a new standard of excellence every year and 2018 has been no exception, “said John Stephenson, OAA President. “Every project submitted for the awards has showcased how architects continue to help build and strengthen communities around the world and is a testament to the strength of our industry.”
The community is invited to begin voting for the People’s Choice Award which will open on the OAA’s Website beginning tomorrow. This opportunity provides the greater community to choose from the top selected design and innovation projects and vote for their favourite Design Excellence Award winner. 
The Design Excellence Awards winners were selected from more than 111 submissions. The 20 finalists were judged on a number of criteria, including creativity, context, sustainability, good design/good business and legacy.

2018 OAA Awards – List of Winners 

Bahá’í Temple of South America 
Santiago, Chile
Hariri Pontarini Architects

Casey House Renovation and Extension
Toronto, ON
Hariri Pontarini Architects; E.R.A. Architects Inc. (Heritage Consultant) 

Collaborative Greenhouse Technology Centre
Vineland, ON
Baird Sampson Neuert Architects Inc.

Double Duplex
Toronto, ON
Batay-Csorba Architects

House on Ancaster Creek
Ancaster, ON
Williamson Williamson Inc.

Julis Romo Rabinowitz Building & Louis A. Simpson International Building, Princeton University
Princeton, NJ, USA
KPMB Architects

Limelight Bandshell
North York, ON
Paul Raff Studio Incorporated Architect

McEwen School of Architecture/ École d’architecture McEwen
Sudbury, ON
LGA Architectural Partners Ltd.

Remai Modern
Saskatoon, SK
KPMB Architects (Design Architect); Architecture49 (Prime Consultant)

Wellington Building Rehabilitation
Ottawa, ON

NORR Architects and Engineers Limited (Design Architect and Architect of Record)
EVOQ Architecture Inc. (formerly FGMDA) (Heritage Conservation Architect)

Best Emerging Practice 


G. Randy Roberts Service Award

Janna S. Levitt

Order of da Vinci

John H. Daniels

OAA Celebration of Excellence Awards, May 25
The 2018 OAA Design Excellence award winners will be celebrated in Toronto on May 25 at the Celebration of Excellence Ceremony capping off the 2018 OAA Conference.
At this time, additional winners in the categories of Lieutenant Governor’s Award, Michael V. & Wanda Plachta Award and the People’s Choice Award will be revealed.
About the OAA Awards
The OAA Awards offer the Ontario architectural profession an annual opportunity to present their work to the public and to a professional audience, demonstrating the excellence of both individual award winners and the profession as a whole and fostering a greater appreciation of architecture and architects in the public realm.
About the Ontario Association of Architects (OAA)
The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) is a self-regulating organization governed by the Architects Act, which is a statute of the Government of Ontario. The OAA’s mission is to represent, regulate, support and promote the profession of architecture in the interest of all Ontarians and to lead the design and delivery of built form in the Province of Ontario.
For more information, interviews and high-resolution images:

Media Contact

Hayley Shaughnessy 



Winners of 2018 Ontario Association of Architects Awards Revealed

Media Release