Notification Window

Winners Announced for the Ontario Association of Architects Awards

TORONTO, April 3, 2017 – The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2017 OAA Awards.

Representing Ontario’s best emerging new talent and some of the province’s most established architecture firms, 10 projects have been recognized with the prestigious Design Excellence Award this year. The 2017 winners in the following OAA Awards categories have also been announced: Best Emerging Practice, Concept, Landmark Designation, G. Randy Roberts Service Award, and Order of da Vinci.

“On behalf of the OAA, I congratulate all of this year’s winners for their extraordinary work in representing the creativity and innovations of architects across the province,” said John Stephenson, OAA President. “All projects submitted for the Design Excellence Awards this year have showed communities just how much architects can help.”

Starting tomorrow, voting for the People’s Choice Award will open on the OAA’s Website. This is an annual opportunity for the community to engage with the top selected design and innovation projects and vote for a favourite Design Excellence Award winner. 

The Design Excellence Awards winners were selected from more than 140 submissions. The 20 finalists were judged on a number of criteria, including creativity, context, sustainability, good design/good business and legacy.

2017 OAA Awards - Design Excellence  Award Winners 

Boulevard Club West Wing Replacement
Toronto, ON
Teeple Architects Inc.

Centennial College Ashtonbee Campus Library & Student HUB
Toronto, ON
MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects Ltd.

Conestoga College Student Recreation Centre
Kitchener, ON
MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects Ltd.

Eva's Phoenix
Toronto, ON
LGA Architectural Partners (formerly Levitt Goodman Architects)

Mike & Ophelia Lazaridis Quantum-Nano Centre, University of Waterloo
Waterloo, ON
KPMB Architects

Queen Richmond Centre West at 134 Peter Street
Toronto, ON
Sweeny &Co. Architects Inc. (formerly Sweeny Sterling Finlayson &Co. Architects Inc.)
Project was commenced by Sweeny Sterling Finlayson &Co Architects Inc. and completed under Sweeny &Co. Architects Inc.

River City – Phase 1 & 2
Toronto, ON
Saucier + Perrotte Architectes / ZAS Architects Inc., in joint venture

Rosemary Residence
Toronto, ON
Kohn Shnier Architects

Story Pod 
Newmarket, ON
Atelier Kastelic Buffey Inc.

Williams Parkway Operations Centre Phase 1 
Brampton, ON
Rounthwaite Dick & Hadley Architects Inc.

2017 OAA Awards - Best Emerging Practice Winners 

blackLAB architects inc.

2017 OAA Awards - Concepts Award Winners 


Shobuj Pata – Multi-Unit Residential Development

Studio JCI Inc.


Forwards and Backwards
Jennifer Davis (Intern Architect) and Jon Sasaki

2017 OAA Awards - Landmark Designation Award Winners

Ontario Science Centre

Toronto, ON

Moriyama & Teshima Architects


The Fielding Memorial Chapel of St. Mark, Thornloe University

Sudbury, ON
Arthur Townend & Carl Skerl, Stefura & Baleshta Architects

2017 OAA Awards - G. Randy Roberts Service Award Winner

J. William Birdsell

2017 OAA Awards - Order of da Vinci


Sheila Penny


RAIC/OAA Celebration of Excellence Awards, May 26

The 2017 OAA Design Excellence award winners will be celebrated in Ottawa at the Westin Hotel on May 26 at the Celebration of Excellence Ceremony capping off the 2017 RAIC/OAA Festival of Architecture.


At this time, additional winners in the categories of Lieutenant Governor’s Award, Michael V & Wanda Plachta Award and the People’s Choice Award will be revealed.


About the OAA Awards

The OAA Awards offer the Ontario architectural profession an annual opportunity to present their work to the public and to a professional audience, demonstrating the excellence of both individual award winners and the profession as a whole and fostering a greater appreciation of architecture and architects in the public realm.


About the Ontario Association of Architects (OAA)

The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) is a self-regulating organization governed by the Architects Act, which is a statute of the Government of Ontario. The OAA’s mission is to represent, regulate, support and promote the profession of architecture in the interest of all Ontarians and to lead the design and delivery of built form in the Province of Ontario.


For more information, interviews and high-resolution images:

Media Contact

Hayley Shaughnessy 


2017 OAA Award Winners Media Release