Notification Window

Stunning Canadian projects selected as 2016 Design Excellence winners by the Ontario Association of Architects

TORONTO, April 4, 2016 – Highlighting Ontario’s talent in architectural innovation and expertise, the Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) proudly selects 10 Canadian projects as recipients of this year’s Design Excellence award, the largest category of the highly-anticipated annual OAA Awards.

Selected from almost 200 submissions, the 10 Design Excellence winners exemplify outstanding practise in creativity, context, sustainability, good design, good business and legacy. This year’s winning projects span across the country and range from iconic cultural centres to community hubs and breathtaking private residences.
Additional categories, including Concepts, Landmark Designation, Best Emerging Practice, G. Randy Roberts Service Award, Honour Roll, Lifetime Design Achievement Award and Order of da Vinci, celebrate leaders of Ontario’s architectural industry in originality, inspiration and direction.
2016 OAA Awards – List of Winners

Design Excellence

Toronto, ON
Moriyama & Teshima Architects in association with Maki and Associates
Edmonton, AB
MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects Ltd. and HIP Architects in joint venture
Georgian Bay Township, ON
Ian MacDonald Architect Inc.
Toronto, ON
Superkül Inc.
Thunder Bay, ON
Brook McIlroy Inc.
London, ON
Hariri Pontarini Architects
Vancouver, BC
KPMB Architects & HCMA Architecture + Design in joint venture
Toronto, ON
Dubbeldam Architecture + Design
Toronto, ON
LGA Architectural Partners Ltd. and Phillip H. Carter, Architect in joint venture

Planespotting Dominique Cheng, OAA Shoreline Commemorative Paul Raff Studio Incorporated Architect

Landmark Designation
299 Queen Street West
Toronto, ON
Burke, Horwood and White (original building)

Quadrangle Architects Limited (renovation) St. Mary’s Ukrainian Catholic Church Sudbury, ON John Stefura and Carl Skerl, Townend Stefura Baleshta and Pfister Architects

Best Emerging Practice
Denegri Bessai Studio

G. Randy Roberts Service Award
Recognizing members of the OAA for extraordinary service to the members
John C. Cook

Honour Roll
Douglas Cumming Johnson
Brian Curtner

Lifetime Design Achievement Award
Honouring members for career-long contribution to Architectural Design Excellence
George P. Baird

Order of da Vinci
Presented to persons who have made a significant and meaningful contribution to the profession of architecture
William N. Greer

People’s Choice Award
Voting is now open to the public for this year’s OAA People’s Choice Award.
Be the judge and vote for your favourite OAA Design Excellence winner. From a contemporary cottage scaled to its lush natural environment in Georgian Bay to a waterfront redesign on Thunder Bay’s most historical piece of land, each winner shows exceptional design and remarkable architectural innovation.

To vote, visit between April 5 and 22.

2016 Celebration of Excellence
Winners across all categories will be recognized and honoured at the Allstream Centre in Toronto on May 13 to conclude the 2016 OAA Annual Conference. At this time, the winner of the Lieutenant Governor’s Award, Michael V. & Wanda Plachta Award and the People’s Choice Award will be revealed.

For additional information, please visit:

For more information, interviews, and high-resolution images please contact:
Media Contact: Source:
Kim Graham & Associates Ontario Association of Architects
Kim Graham
Christine Clarke
Rebecca Eyres

About the OAA Awards
The OAA Awards offer the Ontario architectural profession an annual opportunity to present their work to the public and to a professional audience, demonstrating the excellence of both individual award winners and the profession as a whole and fostering a greater appreciation of architecture and architects in the public realm.

About the Ontario Association of Architects
The Ontario Association of Architects is a self-regulating organization governed by the Architects Act, which is a statute of the Government of Ontario. The OAA’s mission is to represent, regulate, support and promote the profession of architecture in the interest of all Ontarians and to lead the design and delivery of built form in the Province of Ontario.

For more information, visit:

2016 OAA Awards