Notification Window

Ontario Association of Architects Announces 2014 Award Winners and Opens Voting for People's Choice Award March 25 - April 15

March 21, 2014…Toronto, ON – Demonstrating the best in architectural design and innovation, winners of the 2014 Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) Awards feature Canadian projects designed by Ontario architects, ranging from sustainable single-family homes to the redevelopment of key cultural and civic destinations.

Representing Ontario’s emerging new talent and some of the province’s most established architecture firms, 15 newly completed projects in Toronto, Ottawa, Winnipeg, Bracebridge, Hamilton, Brampton, Midhurst, and Halifax, have been distinguished in the Design Excellence category. Selected from more than 170 submissions, recipients of the 2014 ‘Design Excellence’ Award have been recognized by a jury of peers from the design community on the following criteria:

1.   Creativity: The innovative nature of the design solution.
2.   Context: The contribution a project makes to its unique location, to neighbouring uses and to community building.
3.   Sustainability: The contribution the project makes to a sustainable environment. Considers project design merits and the reduced use of raw materials and dependence on fossil fuels, as well as projects that achieve high quality interior environments, with regards to daylighting, air quality and material use.
4.   Good Design/Good Business: The degree to which the project creatively supports and interprets the business and architectural goals of the client through programming and design.
5.   Legacy: The contribution of the project in establishing a new benchmark for architectural excellence.

Celebrating forward-thinking design and leadership in architecture, more than 30 winners in nine categories will be recognized at a formal awards ceremony in Montreal, May 9, as part of the OAA’s annual conference.

2014 OAA Awards - List of Winners

Design Excellence

Algonquin Centre for Construction Excellence
Ottawa, ON
Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated
Edward J. Cuhaci and Associates Architects Inc.

Bridgepoint Active Healthcare
Toronto, ON
Stantec Architecture Ltd., Architects / KPMB Architects
HDR Architecture Associates, Inc./ Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated

Centennial College Athletic and Wellness Centre
Toronto, ON
Kongats Architects

Centennial College Library and Academic Facility
Toronto, ON
Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated

Chinguacousy Park Redevelopment
Brampton, ON
MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects Ltd.

County of Simcoe Administration Centre
Midhurst, ON
Teeple Architects Inc. & Ted Handy & Associates Inc., Architect in joint venture

Manitoba Hydro Place
Winnipeg, MB
KPMB Architects (Design Architect)
Smith Carter Architects & Engineers Incorporated (Executive Architect)
Prairie Architects Inc. (Advocate Architect)

Moore Park Residence
Toronto, ON
Drew Mandel Architects

Mount Dennis Library
Toronto, ON
G. Bruce Stratton Architects

Nova Scotia Power (NSP) Corporate Headquarters
Halifax, NS
WZMH Architects
Fowler Bauld and Mitchell, Associate Architects

Stealth Cabin
Bracebridge, ON
Superkül Inc., Architect

Stoney Creek Recreation Centre
Hamilton, ON
Rounthwaite Dick & Hadley Architects Inc. with Lintack Architects Incorporated

Through House
Toronto, ON
Dubbeldam Architecture + Design

Tommy Thompson Park Pavilions
Toronto, ON
Montgomery Sisam Architects Inc.

Victoria Park Subway Station
Toronto, ON
IBI Group Architects
Brown and Storey Architects Inc.


Semi [Detached]
Batay-Csorba Architects
Jodi Batay-Csorba
Andrew Batay-Csorba

Jiigew (by the water)
Prince Arthur’s Landing, Thunder Bay, ON
spmb & Brook Mcllroy Architects

Honourable Mention
Ken O. Lum

Sustainable Design Excellence Award

Manitoba Hydro Place
Winnipeg, MB
KPMB Architects (Design Architect)
Smith Carter Architects & Engineers Incorporated (Executive Architect)
Prairie Architects Inc. (Advocate Architect)

Landmark Designation

50 Park Road
Toronto, ON
John B. Parkin Associates
(Now NORR Limited, Architects and Engineers)

McMaster University Health Sciences Centre
Hamilton, ON
Zeidler Partnership Architects

Wandich Cottage
Peterborough, ON
Strasman Architects Inc.

Best Emerging Practice

Atelier Kastelic Buffey Inc.

G. Randy Roberts Service Award

Recognizing members of the OAA for extraordinary service to the members
Susan Ruptash

Lifetime Design Achievement Award

Honouring members for career-long contribution to Architectural Design Excellence
Jerome Markson

Order of da Vinci

Presented to persons who have made a significant and meaningful contribution to the profession of architecture
Gordon Grice

People’s Choice

The Ontario Association of Architects invites members of the public to cast their vote for the People’s Choice Award. Launching March 25 and running until April 15, the public is encouraged to visit the OAA’s People’s Choice Award Page on the OAA website ( and pick their favourite new building from the 15 ‘Design Excellence’ Award winners.

2014 OAA Award Juries

The 2014 Award winners were chosen by juries that included members of the public whose interests and backgrounds represent many areas of the Ontario design community.

Design Excellence & Sustainable Design Excellence Awards:

CHAIR – Marco L. Polo
, Associate Professor, Writer & Architect 
Mark Cote, Vice President Development, Oxford Properties Group 
Terrance Galvin, Founding Director, Laurentian School of Architecture 
Rina Greer, Public Art Consultant and Director, Toronto Sculpture Garden 
Robert E. Millward, President & Founder, R.E. Millward & Associates Ltd.
Sheena Sharp (Sustainability Advisor,) Architect, Coolearth Architecture Inc.


CHAIR – Kelvin Browne, Executive Director & CEO, Gardiner Museum
Arlene Gould, Director, Design Industry Advisory Committee 
Ivan Martinovic, Architect, Principal-Archdesign Architects
Jim Melvin, Partner, PMA Landscape Architects

Landmark, Order of da Vinci, Best Emerging Practice & G. Randy Roberts Award:

CHAIR – Diarmuid Nash, Partner, Moriyama & Teshima Architects
J.William Birdsell, OAA President 2014
Diana Osborne, Architect, Osborne Architect
Andrew Bruce-Payne, Society Chair – North Bay Society of Architects

OAA Celebration of Excellence Awards and Dinner May 9

The 2014 awards will be presented in Montreal on Friday May 9, 2014 at the OAA Celebration of Excellence Awards and Dinner hosted at the Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth by OAA President Bill Birdsell and Master of Ceremonies, Ben Mulroney.

Additional awards to be announced at the event include ‘Best of Show’, the ‘Michael  V. and Wanda Plachta Award’ and ‘People’s Choice’. For more information about the 2014 OAA Awards and to purchase tickets please visit:

About the OAA Awards
The OAA Awards offer the Ontario architectural profession an annual opportunity to present its work to the public and a professional audience; demonstrating the excellence of both individual award winners and the profession as a whole; fostering a greater appreciation of architecture and architects in the public realm.

About the Ontario Association of Architects
The Ontario Association of Architects is a self-regulating organization governed by the Architects Act, which is a statute of the Government of Ontario. The OAA’s mission is to represent, regulate, support and promote the profession of architecture in the interest of all Ontarians, and to lead the design and delivery of built form in the Province of Ontario.
For more information, visit:

For more information, interviews, and high-resolution images please contact publicist.

Media Contact:
Kim Graham & Associates
Kate Schatzky
Kim Graham
Source: Ontario Association of Architects

Document Download
2014 OAA Awards Media Release PDF