Notification Window

OAA prepares for jurying of the 2018 OAA Awards

It’s a busy time of year for the OAA Awards program, with 123 submissions coming in for the December 15, 2017 deadline. The Awards Review Committee was particularly pleased with this good response, having set the date a month earlier than usual to accommodate the review process and preparation tasks leading up to Jury Day on February 15.

The Sustainable Design Technical Review (SDTR) Jury, consisting of Paul Dowsett (Principal, SUSTAINABLE.TO Architecture + Building), Stephen Pope (Sustainability Consultant, CSV Architects) and Sheena Sharp (Principal, Coolearth Architecture inc.), met on January 11 to review all the Design Excellence submissions and assign a sustainability score that assists judges in evaluating the submissions. Out of the 112 Design Excellence submissions, 40 opted to provide Energy Use Intensive (EUI) data, representing 36 per cent of the overall submissions. The remaining 72 elected for an EUI to be assigned by the SDTR Jury.
The following week, all award submissions were reviewed to ensure eligibility and submission criteria had been met. On January 15, OAA staff from Communications, Policy and the Registrar’s Office met with OAA President John Stephenson, Vice President Communications Vanessa Fong and other award facilitators to review all entrants to ensure eligibility, completeness and anonymity throughout the submission.
Each of the jurors receive an electronic package in early February, allowing them to review the submissions in detail so they can arrive for Jury Day with a short list of projects entrants to be discussed. This event takes place on February 15 at OAA’s temporary Headquarters at 1 Duncan Mill Rd., Toronto.

The 2018 Jury Members
Design Excellence, Michael V. and Wanda Plachta and Lieutenant Governor’s Awards 
 Carl Blanchaer, principal, WZMH Architects
Anne Bordeleau, director, University of Waterloo School of Architecture 
Isabelle Bradbury, principal, Isabelle Bradbury Architecture Inc. 
Paul Stevens, owner and senior principal architect, ZAS Architects + Interiors Inc
David Theodore, professor, McGill University School of Architecture
Sustainability Advisor – Stephen Pope, architect and sustainability consultant
Order of da Vinci, G. Randy Roberts Award, Best Emerging Practice, and Lifetime Design Achievement
Sheila Penny, vice president of facilities management, Toronto Community Housing
Amber Salach, chair, Northern Ontario Society of Architects 
John K. Stephenson, OAA President, managing partner, FORM Architecture Engineering
Diana Osborne, architect, Osborne Architect               
The Award Winners and Design Excellence Finalists will be announced in March. Public voting for the People’s Choice Award will be launched in April. The Awards will be presented on May 25 at the Delta Hotel, Toronto as part of the 2018 OAA Conference.