Notification Window

OAA Council Election Nominations

Council Vacancies

Get involved in a volunteer leadership role with the OAA. 
Volunteering and being elected to serve on Council offers many rewards. It’s your opportunity to share your expertise and learn in depth about other aspects of the profession, regulation, the association’s structure, as well as numerous programs and services. It’s a chance to gain a wealth of information, give back to and influence the future of the profession. 
There are a full range of opportunities. Your level of involvement depends on your interest and availability. Volunteer hours may include attending meetings, seminars & industry events, hands-on work, advocacy and outreach. Members who sit on Council are looked to for their knowledge and expertise. 
If you are looking for a challenging and rewarding experience that will make a difference to the profession, joining OAA Council may be the opportunity you are looking for. You may also wish to encourage another member to join Council. Please contact your local Council representative for more information on the exciting opportunity service presents. 
There will be five (5) Architect vacancies on Council. Councilors who are Architects sit for a three (3) year term.  The terms commence on January 1, 2018 and ends December 31, 2020.   
There will be one (1) Licensed Technologist OAA Non-Voting Seat on Council. The Licensed Technologist OAA sits for a three (3) year term. The term commences on January 1, 2018 and ends December 31, 2020. The Licensed Technologist OAA seat is a non-voting seat at this time. 
There will be one (1) Intern Architect vacancy for the Non-Voting Intern Architect Seat on Council. The Non-Voting Intern Architect seat on Council has a one year term. This term commences on January 1, 2018 and ends December 31, 2018. 
The vacancies for this year’s elections are: 
1 vacancy for the Eastern Ontario Electoral District; 
2 vacancies for the City of Toronto Electoral District;
2 vacancies for the Province of Ontario Electoral District; 
1 vacancy for the Intern Architect Non-Voting Seat in the Province of Ontario Electoral District.   
For the first time there will be 1 Non-Voting Seat for a Licensed Technologist OAA.
The Members of Council whose terms expire on December 31, 2017 are: 

Toon Dreessen Eastern Ontario
David Rich City of Toronto
Andre Sherman City of Toronto
Barry Cline Province of Ontario
Sheena Sharp Province of Ontario
Gordon Hunt Non-Voting Intern Architect Seat

Please use this time to decide if you wish to serve.  You may encourage another member to join Council.  It is important to verify that your intended nominee wishes to serve.  
Nominations occur using an online system.  An e-mail is sent to each Member on October 2, 2017 with a dedicated link to the online nomination form system.  
Nominations must be completed on or before October 23, 2017. 
See the Elections page for more information.