Notification Window

Design Excellence Awards Finalists Revealed by Ontario Association of Architects


TORONTO, March 5, 2018 – The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) is pleased to announce the finalists for the OAA Design Excellence Awards. This year’s 20 short-listed projects range from local Ontario homes to Ivy League university buildings in the U.S. to temples in Chile, each demonstrating unique best-in-class design. 

“The 2018 finalists have set a new standard for excellence in architecture and represent a dynamic range of bold and cutting-edge thinking that architects in our province are fast becoming renowned for. The projects demonstrate exciting new approaches to functionality that enhance the lives of Ontarians, Canadians and global citizens,” said OAA President, John Stephenson. “Once again, I’m pleased that through the OAA Awards we can celebrate the world-class design and vision of architects based in Ontario that are creating and inspiring powerful contributions for our future.”

Selected from 111 submissions by this year’s jury, the 20 finalists were judged on a number of criteria, including creativity, context, sustainability, good design/good business and legacy. Over the month of March, each finalist will be featured on the OAA blOAAg.

Winners in categories including Design Excellence, Best Emerging Practice, G. Randy Roberts Service Award and Order of da Vinci will be announced on April 3.

2018 OAA Awards - Design Excellence Finalists

Alta Chalet

Town of the Blue Mountains, ON
Atelier Kastelic Buffey Inc.

Bahá’í Temple of South America 

Santiago, Chile
Hariri Pontarini Architects

Casey House

Toronto, ON
Hariri Pontarini Architects
E.R.A. Architects Inc. (Heritage Consultant)

CF Toronto Eaton Centre Bridge
Toronto, ON
Zeidler Partnership Architects (Executive Architect) and WilkinsonEyre (Design Architect)


Collaborative Greenhouse Technology Centre

Vineland, ON
Baird Sampson Neuert Architects Inc. 

Compass House

Mulmur, ON
Superkül Inc.

Double Duplex
Toronto, ON
Batay-Csorba Architects

Environmental Science and Chemistry Building, University of Toronto, Scarborough

Scarborough, ON
Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated 

House on Ancaster Creek

Ancaster, ON
Williamson Williamson Inc.

House in Mulmur Hill 3

Mulmur Township, ON
Ian MacDonald Architect Inc.

Langara College Science & Technology Building

Vancouver, BC
Teeple Architects Inc. in association with Proscenium Architecture + Interiors Inc.

Limelight Bandshell

North York, ON
Paul Raff Studio Incorporated Architect

McEwen School of Architecture/ École d’architecture McEwen

Sudbury, ON
LGA Architectural Partners Ltd.

National Arts Centre Rejuvenation

Ottawa, ON
Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated 

Remai Modern

Saskatoon, SK
KPMB Architects (Design Architect) and Architecture49 Inc. (Architect of Record)

Student Learning Centre, Ryerson University

Toronto, ON
Zeidler Partnership Architects (Executive Architect) and Snøhetta (Design Architect)

UBC Aquatics Centre

Vancouver, BC
MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects Ltd. and Acton Ostry Architects Inc.

Wellington Building Rehabilitation

Ottawa, ON
NORR Architects & Engineers Limited

About the OAA Awards
The OAA Awards offer the Ontario architectural profession an annual opportunity to present their work to the public and to a professional audience, demonstrating the excellence of both individual award winners and the profession as a whole and fostering a greater appreciation of architecture and architects in the public realm.
About the Ontario Association of Architects (OAA)
The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) is a self-regulating organization governed by the Architects Act, which is a statute of the Government of Ontario. The OAA’s mission is to represent, regulate, support and promote the profession of architecture in the interest of all Ontarians and to lead the design and delivery of built form in the Province of Ontario.
For more information, interviews and high-resolution images:
Media Contact
Hayley Shaughnessy

Media Release-OAA Awards 2018 finalists