Notification Window

Council Highlights: January 24, 2019 Meeting

On Thursday, January 24, the OAA Council met for the first time in 2019. In addition to the annual election of officers, it received updates from various committees and groups, ranging from the Building Committee and Sustainable Built Environments Committee (SBEC) to the Joint Task Group with the Association of Registered Interior Designers of Ontario (ARIDO). The annual presentation to the Council from the President and Executive Director of the Ontario Association for Applied Architectural Sciences (OAAAS) was also held.
Election of Officers 2019
The annual Election of Officers took place during the Council meeting, with the Registrar certifying the results.
Kathleen Kurtin, last year’s Senior Vice President and Treasurer, has been acclaimed as the new OAA President. Her previous role has been assumed by Walter Derhak, who was elected by ballot.
Four other Councillors were elected by ballot to Vice President roles; their portfolio is listed below:
- Mélisa Audet (Regulatory);
- Amir Azadeh (Communications);
- J. Gordon Erskine (Strategic); and
- David Sin (Practice).
John Stephenson, having completed two terms as OAA President, was elected to remain as part of the Executive as Immediate Past President.
Each officer’s term of office begins on January 25, 2019 and ends on the day of election of their respective successors. Each officer’s term of office may not exceed 18 months.
OAAAS: Annual Meeting of the Founder 
The Council also voted on the usual order of OAAAS business ahead of its Annual Meeting of the Founder during the first week of February. (This year marked the new governance cycle for the Technology Program of the OAA, which now aligns more closely with that of the Association.)
After a presentation from OAAAS President Rick Mateljan and Executive Director Garry Neil, OAA Council considered the motions that would be presented at the Annual Meeting of the Founder on February 7, and directed the President to vote in favour of those motions as the official representative of the Founder. OAA Council also received the 2018 Financial Report and Audit Statement.
Housing Affordability Task Group Report
The OAA’s Housing Affordability Task Group (HATG) presented its report, “Housing Affordability in Growing Urban Areas,” at the meeting. The Task Group directed SvN Architects + Planners Inc. (John van Nostrand, Liana Bresler and Blair Scorgie with the support of Eric Pitre and Jorge Quesada Davies) in preparing the document, which will be made available in draft form on the OAA website for review next month. (Currently, previews are being posted in the blOAAg as part of the series, “Housing Affordability: Built-Form Case Studies.”)
The HATG set goals with recommended actions to meet housing supply needs at an attainable level in a timeframe responsive to population growth projections to 2060. With its report now finished, the Task Group has been sunset as was its mandate at the outset. HATG’s objectives involved identifying key design and planning elements to address housing affordability. In particular, the group explored building types, changes to built form, construction methods, location, site typology and universal regulatory fixes.
Next Meeting
The next regular meeting of Council is Thursday, March 7 at 9:30 a.m. at the OAA’s temporary headquarters in Toronto at 1 Duncan Mill Rd. (Members are welcome to attend the open meeting, and should RSVP to Tina Carfa.)
Prior to that, there will be the annual Council Priority Setting Session, which is scheduled for February 7 and 8 at the Westin Prince Hotel in Toronto.