Notification Window

Council Highlights - December 8, 2017

A meeting of the Council was held on December 8, 2017 at the OAA’s temporary Headquarters location at 1 Duncan Mill Road, Toronto.  The following are the highlights of the meeting: 
OAA President John Stephenson welcomed everyone to the final meeting of 2017 and extended a special welcome to Incoming Council members Jeremiah Gammond; Bill Birdsell; Amir Azadeh who attended the meeting as observers.  All new members of Council will begin their term officially on January 1, 2018. 
The President recited the following acknowledgement that the Council meeting was being held on indigenous land: 
“I would like to begin by acknowledging that the land on which we are meeting is the traditional territory of the Iroquois/Haudenosaunee, the Métis, and the Huron-Wendy peoples and most recently, the territory of the Mississaugas of the New Credit First Nation.  The territory was the subject of the Dish With One Spoon Wampum Belt Covenant, an agreement between the Iroquois Confederacy, the Ojibwe and allied nations to peaceably share and care for the resources around the Great Lakes. This territory is also covered by the Upper Canada Treaties. 
Today, the meeting place of Toronto (form the Haudenosaunee word ‘Tkaronto’) is still the home to many Indigenous people from across Turtle Island and we are grateful to have the opportunity to work in this territory. 
Of special interest is that Moatfield is also the location of an ossuary or gravesite near today’s Leslie Street and Highway 401 that was rediscovered in 1997 during the expansion of a soccer field.  The bones of 90 people were found there and then relocated to a secret location in the general area of the original gravesite.” 
Appointments to OAA Committees
Council approved the appointment of members to various OAA Committees at the December meeting. These appointments are effective January 1, 2018.  A number of re-appointments were also made to ensure continuity on a number of the Committees.  In accordance with Council’s policy regarding Female Representation on OAA Committees, Council continues to strive for representation by women on OAA Committees that is proportional to the number of women that are members of the Association. 
The following specific appointments were made: 
Complaints Committee
Sandy Yueng
Nazli Eroglu
Reza Hamidi
Nicholas Jay
Golchehr Monjazeb 

James Farrow was reappointed as Chair of the Complaints Committee for 2018. 

Discipline Committee 
Leon Lubelski
Peter Ortved 
Richard Dabrus 
Paul Surtel  

Experience Requirements Committee
Toon Dreessen
Michelle Grant
Izabele Kazanczuk
Bernard H. Watt
Stefanie Siu Chong
Deo Paquette  

Registration Committee 
Leon Lubelski
Denis Rioux
Siu-Man Wong 

Practice Committee
David Carter 
Leo Fillip 

Sub-Committee on Building Codes and Regulations 
Wendy Barner 
John Dorris 
Stephen Pope  

Sustainable Built Environments Committee 
Joy Henderson
Sheena Sharp 
Paul Dowsett 
Eric Anthony Charron  

Practice Advocacy Coordination Team 
Toon Dreessen
Sheena Sharp
Kristiana Schuhmann 

Council also approved an amendment to the Terms of Reference for the Practice Advocacy Coordination Team (PACT) to include two additional members at large on the Committee for 2018 and also requested that the members of PACT review the Committee’s Terms of Reference in the new year with a view to refreshing its mandate in the context of the OAA’s Vision, Mission and Mandate (including how best to integrate the perspective of members at large in the work of the Committee). PACT will be reporting back to Council on this initiative at the June Meeting. 

Audit Committee 
Catherine Hermon  

Interns Committee
Hugo Arriojas                Anna Richter
Erin Broda                     Vineetha Sivathasan
Gordon Hunt                  Isabel Amos 
Joshua MacDonald        Afsaneh Asayesh 
Amy Norris 

Council also appointed the following individuals to the Committee representing Ontario Schools of Architecture. 

Cheryl Atkinson, Ryerson University
Lucie Fontein, Carleton University
Shane Williamson, University of Toronto 
Eastern Ontario Electoral District Representative 
Council is pleased to announce that Ottawa Architect, Sarah Murray has been appointed for a three-year term commencing January 1, 2018.  Council exercised its right to appoint a member from the Eastern Ontario Electoral district as a result of there being no member elected during the Fall Election process.  Indications of interest were sought from members at large in that district leading up to the December Council meeting. 
OAA Conference 2018 Roster of Continuing Education and Tours 
Council approved the roster of Continuing Education sessions as well as Tours that will be offered at the OAA’s 2018 Conference which will be held in Toronto at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, South Building May 23 – 25.  The official conference Hotel is the Delta. 
OAA By-laws – Schedule A 
OAA By-laws - Schedule A has been amended to reflect the necessary updating as approved in the 2018 Budget.  Council approve the updated schedule which has also been reformatted for the purpose of modernization and readability.  The new format will be presented to the membership for ratification at the Annual General Meeting on May 23, 2018. 
OAA Submission – Public Consultation re. OBC amendments: Parking Structures 
OAA Council considered an official submission to the Ministry of Municipal Affairs with respect to its public consultation regarding proposed changes to the OBC which would respond to recommendations stemming from the Elliot Lake enquiry.  The submission included a covering letter from OAA President Stephenson along with a more detailed response as prepared by the OAA’s Subcommittee on Building Codes and Regulations. A copy of the submission has been posted in the GR Portal on the OAA Website. 
Summary of Annual Fall Society Tours 
Council received the final report from President Stephenson and Executive Director Doyle following the completion of the 2017 Tour of the local architectural societies.  The summary report has been posted on the Website in the Societies Portal.  A special thanks is extended to all that attended and to those that helped organize the meetings. 
Revised Terms of Reference: Engineers, Architects, Building Officials (EABO) 
Council provided approval on behalf of the OAA for the updated terms of reference for Engineers, Architects and Building Officials (EABO) which is a joint Liaison group comprised of Professional Engineers Ontario (PEO), Consulting Engineers Ontario (CEO), Ontario Association of Architects (OAA), and Ontario Building Officials Association (OBOA). The Committee was established in 1993 to deal with issues of mutual concern and interest between the three parties. The group works to find common positions or industry standards/practices on certain elements of the design and construction industry.  Additional information can be found on the OAA Website under Allied Organizations.