Notification Window

Annual OAA Awards Gala Celebrates Ontario Architects

OAA Secret Award Winners Announced

TORONTO, May 28, 2018 – The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) Ceremony of Excellence was held in Toronto to honour the most creative, sustainable and innovative designs in Canadian architecture.

In addition to the presentation of the 10 Design Excellence Award winners, OAA announced the winners of the Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award for projects under $8 million, the Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Design Excellence in Architecture and the People’s Choice Award, voted on by the public.

Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award
House on Ancaster Creek, Ancaster, ON
Williamson Williamson Inc. 

Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Design Excellence in Architecture
Casey House, Toronto, ON
Hariri Pontarini Architects, E.R.A. Architects Inc. (Heritage Consultant)

People’s Choice Award
Bahá’í Temple of South America, Santiago, Chile
Hariri Pontarini Architects

“The winners of this year’s OAA Awards showcase how Ontario architects are evolving the way the industry thinks and responds to architectural opportunities in communities around the world,” said John Stephenson, OAA President. “These projects are not only feats of design, but also form the backbone of many communities, enhancing how we live and interact in these shared spaces.”

The OAA awarded and celebrated this year’s winners at the Celebration of Excellence at the Evergreen Brick Works in Toronto on May 25. This year’s event, which was part of the OAA Conference, brought together the province’s top architects, industry experts and honorary guests.

The full list of the 2018 OAA Award Winners is provided below.

2018 OAA Awards – List of Winners

Design Excellence

Bahá’í Temple of South America
Santiago, Chile
Hariri Pontarini Architects

Casey House Renovation and Extension
Toronto, ON
Hariri Pontarini Architects; E.R.A. Architects Inc. (Heritage Consultant)

Collaborative Greenhouse Technology Centre
Vineland, ON
Baird Sampson Neuert Architects Inc.

Double Duplex
Toronto, ON
Batay-Csorba Architects

House on Ancaster Creek
Ancaster, ON
Williamson Williamson Inc.

Julis Romo Rabinowitz Building & Louis A. Simpson International Building, Princeton University
Princeton, NJ, USA
KPMB Architects

Limelight Bandshell
North York, ON
Paul Raff Studio Incorporated Architect

McEwen School of Architecture/ École d’architecture McEwen
Sudbury, ON
LGA Architectural Partners Ltd.

Remai Modern
Saskatoon, SK
KPMB Architects (Design Architect); Architecture49 (Architect of Record)

Wellington Building Rehabilitation
Ottawa, ON
NORR Architects & Engineers Limited

Best Emerging Practice


G. Randy Roberts Service Award

Janna S. Levitt

Order of da Vinci

John H. Daniels

About the OAA Awards
The OAA Awards offer the Ontario architectural profession a biennial annual opportunity to present their work to the public and to a professional audience, demonstrating the excellence of both individual award winners and the profession as a whole and fostering a greater appreciation of architecture and architects in the public realm.

About the Ontario Association of Architects (OAA)
The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) is a self-regulating organization governed by the Architects Act, which is a statute of the Government of Ontario. The OAA’s mission is to represent, regulate, support and promote the profession of architecture in the interest of all Ontarians, and to lead the design and delivery of built form in the Province of Ontario.

For more information, interviews and high-resolution images:

Media Contact
Hayley Shaughnessy

Annual OAA Awards Gala Celebrates Ontario Architects