Notification Window

2016 OAA Awards Winners Announced


After a month of anticipation following the announcement of the 2016 OAA Awards Design Excellence finalists, the Ontario Association of Architects is pleased to announce the ten 2016 OAA Award winning projects for Design Excellence, as well as the 2016 winners in the following categories: Best Emerging Practice, Concept, Landmark Designation, G. Randy Roberts Service Award, Honour Roll, Lifetime Design Achievement Award, and Order of da Vinci.
Congratulations to all the winners!
The final three awards, the Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Design Excellence in Architecture, the Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award, and People’s Choice Award will be announced at the Celebration of Excellence on May 13, part of the OAA Conference 2016 being held in Toronto.
And don’t forget, voting for the People’s Choice Award opens April 5 on the OAA’s website! Be the judge and vote for your favourite OAA Design Excellence winner! 

Design Excellence
Recognizing the innovative skills of Ontario architects in creating spaces, buildings and communities that respect and enhance the environment and enrich human activity. Click on the links to learn more about these projects! 

Aga Khan Museum
Toronto, ON
Moriyama & Teshima Architects in association with Maki and Associates
Photo Credit: Gary Otte

Commonwealth Community Recreation Centre
Edmonton, AB
MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects Ltd. and HIP Architects in joint venture
Photo Credit: Tom Arban 

Go Home Bay Cabin
Georgian Bay Township, ON
Ian MacDonald Architect Inc. 
Photo Credit: Tom Arban

Harbord Towns 
Toronto, ON
Superkül Inc. 
Photo Credit: Ben Rahn/A-Frame Studio

Prince Arthur's Landing, Thunder Bay Waterfront
Thunder Bay, ON
Brook McIlroy Inc.

Richard Ivey Building, Richard Ivey School of Business, Western University
London, ON
Hariri Pontarini Architects
Photo Credit: Ben Rahn / A-Frame

Robert H. Lee Alumni Centre, University of British Columbia 
Vancouver, BC
KPMB Architects & HCMA Architecture + Design in joint venture
Photo Credit: Nic Lehoux

Skygarden House
Toronto, ON
Dubbledam Architecture + Design
Photo Credit: Shai Gil

Toronto Public Library Scarborough Civic Centre Branch 
Toronto, ON
LGA Architectural Partners Ltd. and Phillip H. Carter, Architect in joint venture
Photo Credit: Ben Rahn / A-Frame

Recognizing clarity and uniqueness of expression of an architectural idea as well as promoting the involvement of individuals in the areas of design presentation, art and other design related endeavors.

Dominique Cheng, OAA

Shoreline Commemorative
Paul Raff Studio Incorporated Architect

Landmark Designation 
Recognizing buildings that demonstrate architecture’s beauty, endurance and lasting contribution to community and society. These buildings must be located in Ontario and built 25 years ago or more. 

299 Queen Street West
Toronto, ON
Burke, Horwood and White (Original Building, 1913)
Quadrangle Architects (Renovation)

St. Mary's Ukranian Catholic Church 
Sudbury, ON
John Stefura and Carl Skerl, Townend Stefura Baleshta and Pfister Architects

Best Emerging Practice
Recognizing the contribution of young firms that have been in practice for five years or less and that demonstrate a clear vision, well-articulated goals and proven effective strategies that provide a competitive advantage.

Denegri Bessai Studio

G. Randy Roberts Service Award

Recognizing members of the OAA for extraordinary service to the members

John C. Cook

Lifetime Design Achievement Award
Honouring members for career-long contribution to Architectural Design Excellence.

George P. Baird 

Order of da Vinci
Presented to persons who have made a significant and meaningful contribution to the profession of architecture

William N. Greer

Honour Roll
Recognizing prominent members of the architectural profession who are now deceased.

Douglas Cumming Johnson

Brian Curtner