Notification Window

The Modern Police Station

International Student Design Competition

27 February 2019

Important Dates

Registration Closes: 16 June 2019
Submission Deadline: 16 June 2019
Winner Announcement: 01 July 2019
Award Ceremony: TBD


In the context of social unrest, violent protests, easy access to guns, the decanting of mental health services and the legalization of marijuana, society’s standard institutions and approaches are being challenged and questioned. Police often find themselves on the front lines of these issues, and are asked to serve and protect in a complex and changing environment. New skill sets, changing laws and evolving expectations need a commensurate evolution in building typology to support them, symbolize those changes, and positively enhance the connection between policing and the community. 

Architecture students are invited to speculate on these issues in a design competition sponsored by the Canadian Academy of Architecture for Justice. Submissions are welcomed from either studio groups or individuals. The design will be evaluated by a jury of police, and architects with experience in the field. Participants are highly encouraged to explore a wide spectrum of architectural responses from functional and practical at one end to philosophical and social at the other – including ways in which this building could be integrated into the community and be a catalyst for building a positive relationship between the police and the community they serve. 

The Canadian Academy of Architecture for Justice (CAAJ) is a group of architects, designers and allied professionals working in the field of justice architecture, with the aim of sharing knowledge and advancing Canadian expertise in the field. The Academy focuses on the three areas of justice architecture – law enforcement, courts and detention/corrections. Future competitions are envisioned for the Courts and Detention/Corrections fields. 

Submission Requirements & Evaluation

Participants must register on the CAAJ website:
Link to Full Competition Brief.

Competition package released: February 2019
Competition entry submissions due: June 16, 2019
Results announced: July, 2019

 > Elizabeth McDonald (Associate, BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group) 
 > Alex Bozikovic (Architecture critic for the Globe and Mail) 
 > Senior law enforcement official  
 > John Pepper (Partner, RPL Architects, CAAJ Competition Chair) 
 > Michael Moxam (VP Design, Stantec, CAAJ Law Enforcement Vice Chair) 
 > David Clusiau (VP Design, NORR Architects and Engineers, CAAJ Chair) 

First prize $3,000 CDN and 2nd and 3rd prizes will each receive $1000 CDN. Winners will be featured on the CAAJ website. Prize awards provided by the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Foundation.