Notification Window

The 50th Annual Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence

17 July 2017

Important Dates

Registration Closes: 21 September 2017
Submission Deadline: 21 September 2017
Winner Announcement: TBD
Award Ceremony: 29 November 2017


The 50th annual Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence program is open for entries. The Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence recognizes projects in the design stage. Judging takes place in October and the winning schemes are published in a special issue in December.

The deadline is September 21, 2017.

To enter, you must be either (A) an architect registered in Canada or (B) a graduate of an accredited Canadian architecture school holding a professional degree from that school.

Projects must be in the design stage, scheduled for construction or under construction but not substantially complete by September 21, 2017. All projects must be commissioned by a client with the intention to build the submitted proposal. All building types and concisely presented urban design schemes are eligible.

Awards are given for architectural design excellence. Jurors will consider the following criteria (with all criteria being weighted equally): 

    • Physical organization and form, including attention to composition and detail
    • Response to program, site, geographic and/or urban context
    • Innovation in concept, process, materials, building systems and/or implementation
    • Demonstration of exemplary environmental and/or social awareness 

For more information and to submit your entry, click here.

To view the winners of the 2016 Canadian Architect Awards of excellence, click here.

To view Frequently Asked Questions regarding submitting an entry, click here.