Notification Window

RAIC International Prize 2019

19 February 2019

Important Dates

Submission Deadline: 26 April 2019
Winner Announcement: TBD
Award Ceremony: 25 October 2019



The RAIC International Prize (formerly the Moriyama RAIC International Prize) is a unique CAD $100,000 prize recognizing great architecture anywhere in the world that transforms society and promotes justice, respect, equality, and inclusiveness.

Awarded every two years, the Prize is open to all architects, of every nationality and location. The winner is chosen in an open juried competition.

Submission Details: for the RAIC Internaional Prize.

Submission Criteria:
The intention of this award is to celebrate a single work of architecture that is transformative, inspired as well as inspiring, and emblematic of the human values of respect and inclusiveness.  The jury will consider a number of criteria in the evaluation of submissions, including:                   
 > the building’s formal and experiential qualities
 > the efficiency and effectiveness of the building in use
 > response to site, climate and environmental conditions
 > quality of engagement with the broader context - social, cultural, historic and political 
 > craftsmanship
 > timelessness

Diarmuid Nash, PP/FRAIC, Jury Chair
Anne Carrier, FIRAC
Barry Johns, FRAIC
Eva Matsuzaki, PP/FRAIC
Gilles Saucier, FRAIC
Stephen Hodder, MBE
David M. Covo, FRAIC, Professional Advisor

See the Jury Bios.

Questions may be addressed to the RAIC office at 1-613-241-3600 ext. 214, or via email to before 5 p.m. EST, Friday, March 15, 2019.