Notification Window

Governor General's Medals in Architecture

Call for Submissions

18 October 2017

Important Dates

Registration Closes: 01 December 2017
Submission Deadline: 01 December 2017
Winner Announcement: TBD
Award Ceremony: TBD


Submissions deadline: 4:00 p.m. December 1, 2017

RAIC and the Canada Council for the Arts (CCA) are pleased to invite architects to participate in the competition for the 2018 Governor General’s Medals in Architecture. The RAIC, with the RAIC College of Fellows, is proud to organize and administer the competition. The Canada Council for the Arts is responsible for selecting and administering the peer assessment committee.


The objective of the Governor General’s Medals in Architecture is to recognize and celebrate outstanding design in recently completed built projects by Canadian architects. The 2018 competition continues a tradition initiated by the Massey Medals in 1950, providing an important source of understanding of the nature of Canadian architecture and the regional, cultural and historic forces expressed in the built environment.


Projects built in and outside of Canada, completed between January 1, 2010 and September 1, 2017 and for which licensed/registered architects or Team of Architects who are Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada and are licensed/registered with a Canadian Provincial or Territorial Jurisdiction and were the lead design architects, are eligible to be submitted.

The following are NOT eligible:

  • projects having received a Governor General’s Medal in Architecture in a previous competition;
  • projects with involvement of a peer assessment committee member (jury) for the 2018 competition; or a member of the RAIC Awards Committee or RAIC staff; or a member of the Board or staff of the Canada Council for the Arts.


The 2018 competition will result in the awarding of 12 Governor General’s Medals in Architecture.

For more information, click here