Notification Window


08 January 2015

Important Dates

Registration Closes: 28 February 2015
Submission Deadline: 28 February 2015
Winner Announcement: 31 May 2015
Award Ceremony: TBD


Celebrate VisitAble Housing in Canada!

The Awards of Excellence in VisitAble Housing have been launched as part of the Canadian Centre on Disability Studies’ (CCDS) VisitAbility Project. The Awards of Excellence will highlight and celebrate VisitAble Housing in Canada. The Awards are a one-time program, and national in scope. All entries must be received by 11:59pm (Central Time, Manitoba) on February 28, 2015. Please assist us in promoting the Awards of Excellence by forwarding this email to your networks.


Eligible housing projects must meet all of the following criteria:

Incorporate all three VisitAbility features:

          1) No-step entrance at the front, back or side of the house;

          2) Wider doorways and clear passage on the main floor;                

          3) a main floor bathroom that can be accessed by visitors with mobility devices.

Built, renovated, developed, and/or created between January 1, 2005 and December 31, 2014.

Be located in Canada.

Be in compliance with local building regulations at the time the project was built.

Anyone (e.g., architects, builders, developers, owners, general citizens) may submit entries regardless of their direct involvement in the project. Those submitting entries must have permission from the project owner at the time of submission. Multiple entries are accepted.

Entry Process

More information about the Awards can be found on the following link:

To proceed directly to the entry form, please click on the following link:


Any questions about the Awards of Excellence in VisitAble Housing should be emailed to You can also reach Youn-Young Park or Allen Mankewich at 204-287-8411.