Notification Window

Spotlight on OAA Awards – Design Excellence Awards

01 Dec 2017
Image Credit: Jose Uribe
Architectural Credit: Saucier + Perrotte Architectes / ZAS Architects Inc., in joint venture.
2017 Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Design Excellence Winner
River City Phase 1 & 2
Toronto, Ontario
Architects: Saucier + Perrotte Architectes / ZAS Architects Inc., in joint venture.  
Date of Completion: 2015
The annual OAA Awards program was established in 1988 and offers Ontario architects, students and interns an opportunity to showcase their best work and increase public appreciation of the services provided by the architectural profession.

This year, the Awards are introducing changes to the program and now operate on a two-year cycle with Design Excellence and Career Achievement Awards celebrated in even-number years and a new Challenge Program introduced in odd-number years. Other changes include sunsetting of the Concepts, Sustainable Design and Landmark Awards.

The 2018 Awards cycle continues with the Design Excellence Awards and the next opportunity to enter will be in 2020. Don’t miss your opportunity to submit for this year’s cycle! 

The  OAA is now accepting Entries for the 2018 OAA Awards, this mini-blOAAg series on “Spotlight on OAA Awards” will highlight the various categories of awards given by the OAA in the new two-year cycle of Awards programs.

Spotlight on Design Excellence Award! 

Design Excellence Award aims to recognizing great, innovative architecture across Ontario. It’s given to celebrate the innovative skills of Ontario architects in creating spaces, buildings and communities that respect and enhance the environment and enrich human activity.
All projects created by members of the OAA, located anywhere in the world, completed since January 1, 2013 and currently in use are eligible. Projects may represent any form of built architecture including: single buildings, groups of buildings, additions, interiors, conversions, restorations, and renovations.
Eligibility Breakdown
Eligible projects’ correct credit of authorship must meet the following: 

• An architectural practice – The architectural practice must have an OAA certificate of practice and one of the following must be met:
a) the work must be done by a  practice located in Ontario.
b) the project must be located in Ontario

• An individual – The Individual must be affiliated with the association and one of the following must be met:
a) they must reside in Ontario
b) the project must be located in Ontario
It is the submittor’s responsibility to ensure they have provided the correct credit of authorship conforming to Section 42, subsection 31 and 34 of the Regulations under the Architects Act.  Refer to OAA Regulatory Notice R.5 V.1.0.
Who can submit?
Architects, intern architects, owners, users, builders, and members of the public are welcome to submit, provided the work was undertaken by a member of the OAA.
Past Recipients
All past Recipients of OAA Design Excellence Award can be found here

Spotlight on Additional Design Excellence Awards!

Design Excellence winners are automatically in the running for the following additional awards which are not revealed until the night of the Celebration of Excellence.

Note: Design Excellence Winners with a construction cost of 8 million or less are eligible for the Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award.  
Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Design Excellence
The Lieutenant Governor's Award for Design Excellence in Architecture recognizes completed projects constructed in Ontario within the past five years. The Lieutenant Governor’s Award is given to the project deemed by the Jury to be the best Design Excellence submission located in Ontario which most successfully addresses all of the awards criteria.
Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award 
Honoring architectural excellence for projects in Ontario that cost no more than 8 million dollars. This annual award was established in 1991 by Mrs. Wanda Plachta in honour of her late husband, Michael Plachta's wish to recognize younger firms that create excellence in smaller projects.
People’s Choice Awards 
Recognizing the public's favourite project, selected by online voting from the Design Excellence Winners.

Flag as inappropriate


Please log in to post comments