Notification Window

Spotlight on OAA Awards – Career Achievement Awards

01 Dec 2017
Image Credit: N/A
Architectural Credit: N/A
2017 Winners of the Career Achievement Awards

The annual OAA Awards program was established in 1988 and offers Ontario architects, and interns an opportunity to showcase their best work and increase public appreciation of the services provided by the architectural profession.

This year, the Awards are introducing changes to the program and now operate on a two-year cycle with Design Excellence and Career Achievement Awards celebrated in even-number years and a new Challenge Program introduced in odd-number years. Other changes include sunsetting of the Concepts, Sustainable Design and Landmark Awards.

The 2018 Awards cycle continues with the Design Excellence Awards and the next opportunity to enter will be in 2020. Don’t miss your opportunity to submit for this year’s cycle!

The OAA is now accepting Entries for the 2018 OAA Awards, this mini-blOAAg series on “Spotlight on OAA Awards” will highlight the various categories of awards given by the OAA in the new two-year cycle of Awards programs.

Spotlight on Best Emerging Practice Award!  

Recognizing the contribution of young firms that have been in practice for five years or less and that demonstrate a clear vision, well-articulated goals and proven effective strategies that provide a competitive advantage.

The OAA wants to celebrate new practices by encouraging them to make a submission for 2018 OAA Awards. Below are the eligibility and award criteria:

OAA Practice that has been in practice for 5 years or less.

Award Criteria
Considerations may include such practice-building tools as:
1- Unique client services
2- Innovative resources for clients 
3- Savvy use of media and marketing 
4- Creative approaches to skill development and professional development
Past Recipients
2011 Not awarded
OAA now Lecture 
Past winners from 2015 onwards were asked to participate in our annual OAA now Lecture series. OAA now, in recognition of the contribution by the Emerging Practice Award Winner to the profession of architecture, provides a setting to discuss the opportunities and challenges they face. 
OAA 2016 now | Denegri Bessai Studio
OAA 2015 now | PARTISANS Architects

Spotlight on G. Randy Roberts Service Award!

Recognizing an OAA member for extraordinary service to the membership; for ‘behind-the-scenes’ dedication and action; for employing the skills and the energy to get things done. This annual award is named after the late 2005 OAA President, G. Randy Roberts. 

It aims to recognize an OAA member for extraordinary service to the membership, for choosing to play a pivotal role ‘behind-the-scenes,’ through dedication, passion, and action, for employing the skills and the energy to get things done.  
The nominee and seconder must be members of the OAA (architect, intern, retired, life, honorary, student).
Award Criteria: 
The qualities or actions which may be recognized by the award include: 
- Responsiveness to and communication with OAA members on behalf of the OAA
- Grassroots involvement with members
- Care, compassion, integrity, enthusiasm and a sense of humour
Examples - Society leadership, councillor, committee member, spearheading or engaging in an activity (in or outside of the OAA & Societies) that benefited the members of the profession, such as effective lobbying for the profession, public representation, etc.
Nomination Requirements: 
1 - Letter of Recommendation - submitted by nominator & seconded - both must be OAA members
2 - Citation or CV outlining nominee's accomplishments
Past Recipients: 
2017 I J. William Birdsell
2016 | John C. Cook
2015 | Istvan Lendvay
2014 | Susan Ruptash
2013 | Alexander Rankin
2012 | Ivan Martinovic 
2011 | David R. Murphy
2010 | Sheena Sharp
2009 | John Bobaljik
2008 | James William Strutt
2007 | Isabelle Bradbury

Spotlight on Order of da Vinci Award!

Recognizing individuals who have demonstrated exceptional leadership in the profession, in education, and/or in the community.

The nominee must be a resident of Ontario
Requirements for submitting a nomination are: 
1 - Letter of Recommendation - submitted by nominator & seconded - both must be OAA members
2 - Citation or CV outlining nominee's accomplishments
Past Recipients:
2017 I Sheila Penny 
2016 | William N. Greer
2015 | Leslie M. Klein
2014 | Gordon Grice
2013 | David Craddock
2012 | Robert G. Hill
2011 | Ranjit Dhar
2010 | James M. Wright
2009 | Jerome Markson
2008 | Stephen V.E. Irwin
2007 | Martin Poizner
2006 | No Honour bestowed
2005 | Catherine Nasmith
2004 | Gene Kinoshita
2003 | Rod Robbie
2002 | Ted Teshima
2001 | George Baird
2000 | Gerald Robinson
1999 | James Strutt
1998 | Peter Smith
1997 | John Shaw
1996 | Anthony Butler
1995 | Henry Fliess
1994 | John B. Wimbs
1993 | Pamela J. Cluff
1992 | Kenneth W.C. Bacon
1991 | Brian & Brenda Parks
1991 | Blandford Gates
1990 | Irving Rayman
1989 | Jeanne I.A. Arnold
1988 | James A. Murray
1987 | John W. Hoag
1986 | David A. Novick
1985 | Cameron C. Ridsdale

Spotlight on Lifetime Design Achievement Award!    

Recognizing an architect's career-long commitment to the promotion and achievement in Architectural Design Excellence. 
This award celebrates the outstanding contribution of architects whose body of work reflects a lasting legacy of excellence and innovation. OAA members are encouraged to nominate another OAA member who deserves to be recognized for their life long dedication to the profession. 

Requirements for submitting a nomination are: 
1 - Letter of Recommendation - submitted by nominator & seconded - both must be OAA members
2 - Citation or CV outlining nominee's accomplishments

Past Recipients: 
2017 I Not Awarded
2016 | George P. Baird
2015 | Bruce Kuwabara
2014 | Jerome Markson
2013 | A.J. Diamond
2012 | Raymond Moriyama
2011 | Eb Zeidler

Spotlight on Honour Roll

Honour Roll recognizes prominent members of the architectural profession in Ontario who are now deceased.  The record of achievement will be presented to a relative and displayed at the OAA. 
The nominee must be an Ontario architect, now deceased, that meets at least one of the following criteria:
- the quality of the architect’s work and contribution to Ontario’s architectural heritage must be significant; or
- the architect must have had significant influence on professional colleagues through design, education, professional development, community development, publication or other significant activity.
Letter of Recommendation that includes the criteria under which the architect is being recommended

Flag as inappropriate


January 15, 2018 12:16 by Anonymous
I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this blog.
I am hoping to see the same high-grade content
from you later on as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my very own website now

Flag this comment as inappropriate

Please log in to post comments